making-your-mornings-sweeter Granola ! (No refined sugar, No oil, Vegan)

2

Did you know granola is basically toasted oats? Well, I didn’t for the longest time! I used to see granola all over the healthy food blogs and grocery store aisles and  think it is made from something completely mystical! Well, no more.

 

13

I was trying to figure out a solution to my morning cereal cravings. You know, those days when you don’t want to spend extra time making breakfast when you are either in a hurry or just too plain hungry to make something (sounding like a pattern on this blog?). I used to eat Kellogg’s Frosties or corn flakes most mornings while growing up. Unfortunately, I can’t afford to anymore because I have since then found out that they are not going to aid in my efforts to eat a hearty wholesome breakfast. Thereby leading to my google search for “healthy breakfast cereal recipes”. And that moment when I found out that granola was actually just toasted oats, I think a bulb just went on in my head and I was left wondering how come I didn’t know this any sooner? Anyways, needless to say, some granola, some fresh-cut strawberries and a splash of milk is all I had for breakfast for the next following months. Oh boy, did I enjoy my mornings so much more! I remember so many mornings where my better half would literally walk into me sitting at our dining table with a blissful expression on my face, just savoring the sweet taste of such an amazing healthy yet delicious breakfast!

12

This recipe has no refined sugar, no oil and is filled with super healthy nuts, dried fruits and seeds (Yes, you read it right!). I have tried different recipes from online since then (as there are granola recipes galore!) but I always keep coming back to this one since I’ve perfected the ingredients to exactly how I like it. But feel free to increase or decrease the ingredients within a category as long as the relative proportions remain the remain. I sometimes get adventeruous and change things around to get same but slightly different granola every few weeks (or maybe I just make do with what I have!).

Enjoy the delicious taste of healthiness with chopped up strawberries and a third cup of cold/lukewarm milk or have it as an on-the-go snack or if you are, unlike me, the granola-yogurt combination go at it. Whatever route you chose, you are bound to enjoy this bunches of yum. So without much ado…

1

Adapted from Food’s of our lives’ Homemade Granola

making-your-mornings-sweeter Granola! (No refined sugar, No oil, Vegan)

Prep time: 15 minutes
Yields: 4 cups

Ingredients

  • 3-1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup of raw nuts combination: Almond, Walnuts, Cashews, Pecans or any nut of choice (refer notes)
  • ½ cup of seeds combination: Chia seeds, Flax seeds, Sunflower seeds  (optional)
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened shredded coconut (dry or fresh)
  • 1-1/2 Tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/16 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cups of no sugar added applesauce (refer notes)
  • ¼ cup agave nectar/maple syrup/honey (refer notes)
  • ¼ cup Coconut sugar (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 275 F/135 C.
  2. Take a large mixing bowl and add all the dry ingredients, including the spice powders and coconut sugar (if using).6
  3. In another bowl, mix the applesauce, liquid sweetener of choice and vanilla essence well.
  4. If using fresh/frozen shredded coconut, measure the required amount and either defrost it in the microwave for 1 minute or if you have time, let it rest at room temperature till it is softened. If using dried shredded coconut, add it during Step 2.
  5. Add the fresh/frozen shredded coconut (if using) to the dry ingredients mixture and mix it well until thoroughly combined.7
  6. Then add the liquid ingredients and mix it gently (with your hands for better results!) till the entire mixture is wet and they start to cluster slightly. If the mixture is too dry, add a few teaspoons of applesauce till the mixture is just coated but not drenched.9
  7. Layer the mixture on two separate lined baking sheets about ½ inch thick.
    5-B5
  8. Set them in the preheated oven in the middle rack.
  9. Toss them with a spatula every 10 minutes for 40 minutes. After 20 minutes, turn the trays around so they brown evenly. After, 30 minutes make sure you check every 5 minutes or so to ensure you don’t burn the granola! Test it by taking a piece and checking if it is dried up (It won’t be crunchy just yet). The timings will change from oven to oven.4
  10. Once it is sufficiently dried up, let it cool on the trays. It will become crunch-ier as it dries.
  11. After it is cooled, either enjoy your breakfast, if you have been waiting hungrily, or store it an airtight mason jar for up to 2-3 weeks.16

    15

    Notes:

    1. I usually use a combinatiof of almonds, cashews and walnuts. Even 1 cup of 1 kind would work well. I like keeping the nuts whole because they are going to be toasted. If you prefer to break them down, don’t break it too fine because they will get burnt by the time the granola dries up.
    2. I use a combination of chia seeds and flax seeds for an omega boost. But feel free to omit or add other seeds of choice, as you wish.
    3. I usually buy  those prepackaged cups of unsweetened natural applesauce since I don’t use applesauce too much in my cooking. If you are using those cups (3.9 ox ones), then use 2 of them and add 1/2 cup more oats to bulk up the recipe so it doesn’t get too soggy.
    4. 1/4 cup of sweetener is just a hint of sweet. It’s perfect when you add a fruit (think apples/bananas) along with   milk for your breakfast. If you are planning to take it as a snack, maybe increasing the liquid a little more would be more apt. Again, add more oats if the mixture gets too soggy. Alternatively, you can add 1/4 cup more coconut sugar or any other granulated sugar and keep the dry ingredients the same.
    5. Also, if you think the granola is not sweet enough after you bake it, feel free to drizzle any kind of liquid sweetener or granulated sugar when you eat it with fruit or milk.

There are so many combinations that result in beauty. Try out your own and send me pictures of your kitchen conquests!

And as always, I look forward to your comments, questions and feedback!

 

 

8 thoughts on “ making-your-mornings-sweeter Granola ! (No refined sugar, No oil, Vegan)

Leave a Reply

